Book Review: The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker by Jenni Keer

Published:  10/01/2019 by Avon Books UK

Meet Lucy, aged 25, and Brenda, aged 79. Neighbours, and unlikely friends.

Lucy Baker is not your usual 25-year-old. She is more at home reading and knitting in her cluttered little flat than going out partying and socialising.

79-year-old Brenda is full of wise and wonderful advice, but when she’s diagnosed with dementia her life begins to change. Before her memories slip away for ever, Brenda is desperate to fulfil one last wish – to see Lucy happy.

Gifting Lucy the locket that helped Brenda find her own true love, she hopes to push her reticent neighbour in the right direction. But is Lucy Baker ready for the opportunities and heartbreaks of the real world? It’s about time she put her knitting needles aside and found out…

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker will be the most charming, heart-warming and feel-good novel you will read this year, perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan and Gail Honeyman.


51iOGv5+gUL

Let’s get my list of superlatives out for this review because this book is simply wonderful. From the first page right until the last, I was in love. In love with the story, in love with all characters. Yes, all of them. Even the ones less favourable, because they were so well written, so real and so strong and every single one of them contributed to the story massively.

Being somewhat a hermit myself 🙈 living in the ‘organised mess’, I could definitely connect with Lucy and her ‘boring’ lifestyle. I understand you don’t need to be out and crazy every day to have fulfilling life but getting isolated won’t help either. Sometime you have to put yourself out there and take it all as it comes, good or bad, with or without a locket.

As I mentioned before, it was characters that made this book for me what it is, it’s characters that will stay with me long after I have finished this book or written this review and I will, for the same reason, recommend this book to others.

It filled me with so much emotion, mostly warm fluffy happiness but won’t deny some parts made me weep like a child. To be fair, what else do you want from the book? It has it all and so much more. It’s not a book to talk about in detail, it’s a book you need to pick up, read, experience and feel.

So to wrap this up, don’t go on and read reviews about this book (unless it’s mine of course 😂) but get it and jump right in and let’s chat about it when you come out ☺️

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.