Book Review: The Serial Killer’s Daughter by LESLEY WELSH

  • Published: 14/07/2017
  • 336 pages
  • Format: Kindle
  • Rating: Star_rating_3_of_5

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death… So why did he have a picture of her? Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

34814293

As the third book for reading challenge at The Fiction Cafe Book Club – A book you started but never finished, I’ve chosen The Serial Killer’s Daughter for few reasons. Yes, it’s one of the books I’ve started but got carried away by some other recommendations and never finished it. TWICE! It wasn’t because I haven’t enjoyed it for the first two times or that it wasn’t my cup of tea. It was simply because that’s me, I talk about books, read about books and sometimes I just can’t wait to read something new and drop my current read. Quite few books would actually fit into this category for this reading challenge but The Serial Killer’s Daughter was probably the only one I really really wanted to finish soon.

Beautifully looking cover was my initial reason why I bought it. Yes, I do judge book by its cover and yes, I am very very ashamed of it (not really 😛 ). I must admit, I haven’t even read the blurb prior the purchase, some books I just need to have. I mean it’s a thriller (my favourite genre), it’s got serial killer in the title, how bad choice can it be, right?

My first thought about this book was: ‘If I already know, he is the serial killer and he is dead, is there even anything that will keep me interested?’ Yes, there certainly is. The book flows nicely and a lot of information comes forward as story progresses.

Main character Suzanne doesn’t have any kind of relationship with her father, haven’t seen him for many years and even those handful times she did, it wasn’t anything remarkable. She didn’t even know her estranged father has passed away and left her his few but very important possessions after his death. Suitcase full of journals or books written by him, photographs of women (one of her good friend),… Enough for Suzanne to realize once again, she didn’t know her father at all. So many secrets, so many shocking discoveries.

The book is written from different points of view and I found it really interesting and one of those stories you want to read to find out more. Even if you know who is the killer, you want to know how the murders happened and what is going to happen next. However about 70 percent in, my interest started to drop. I couldn’t connect to Suzanne’s character for one, I found her a bit bland, with hardly any real emotions. I’m not sure if that’s what her character was meant to feel like (being serial killer’s daughter after all) or for me, her character hasn’t developed enough. But more I think about her, I realize some of Suzanne’s reactions were just not strong enough. If you read this book, you will know what I mean, there are some pretty shocking scenes, which had me blinking hard and swallowing massive lump in my throat, but Suzanne kept quiet, because that’s what she is meant to do? I don’t know, but some of her reactions just felt very unnatural and not very real as I said.

However at this point I still felt, if there will be some good ending, cliffhanger or just some good twist, I will give this book 4 stars. It didn’t happen though, nothing extreme happened and maybe this ending would work for some readers, but it just didn’t work for me. I like to feel shocked, thinking about the book, try to put my head straight,… I didn’t need to do any of this, it just finished. The End. Nothing more, nothing less.

Seeing this book has got pretty good rating on Goodreads and Amazon, I don’t feel like I am the best person to judge this thriller too much. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would but a lot of other readers really did, so it might be a good read for you too if you decide to give it a try.

giphy (11).gif


About Lesley Welsh

15009265Lesley Welsh was born in Strawberry Field children’s home and raised on a notorious Liverpool council estate. Later she moved to London, where she studied English and drama and worked as a freelance writer specialising in alternative lifestyles. Her articles appeared in Cosmopolitan, Marie Clare, Red, Bite, Forum, Time Out and many others before she established Moondance Media, a magazine publishing company. Her dark and compelling short story Mrs Webster’s Obsession was turned into a film. She now lives and works in Spain.

Her first crime thriller ‘Truth Lies Buried’ was published in June 2016 by Thomas & Mercer and has been nominated for the CWA Golden Dagger Award as the best crime novel of 2016.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: