Book Review: A Mother’s Sacrifice by GEMMA METCALFE

  • Published: 09/03/2018
  • Format: Kindle
  • Rating: 1280px-5_stars.svg

God ensured she crossed my path. And that is why I chose her.

The day Louisa and James bring their newborn son home from the hospital marks a new beginning for all of them. To hold their child in their arms, makes all the stress and trauma of fertility treatment worth it. Little Cory is theirs and theirs alone. Or so they think…

After her mother’s suicide when she was a child, Louisa’s life took an even darker turn. But meeting James changed everything. She can trust him to protect her, and to never leave her. Even if deep down, she worries that she has never told him the full truth about her past, or the truth about their baby.

But someone knows all her secrets – and that person is watching and waiting, with a twisted game that will try to take everything Louisa holds dear.

Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen.

510iFwdISJL

It seems like forever since I’ve read Trust me by Gemma Metcalfe and absolutely loved it. I knew then, she can give a reader gripping story and I anticipated another thriller by her ever since. The wait was totally worth it. I managed to read it in less than a day as it is definitely one of unputdownable books and has ending you will not predict.

Louisa and James are going through fertility treatment and doing absolutely everything to have their own family. Nothing seems to be working and even the private clinic with a lot of happy clients doesn’t seem to be helping. Their relationship is already strained from heartbreak they go through after each IVF treatment and all James wants is for Louisa to be finally mother and be happy. And James will do everything for that to happen as Louisa has a history of mental problems and is already on the edge.

The day they bring their son home from hospital, everything seems perfect and they are ready to start their family life together. But there is the feeling that not everything is how it seems. There are secrets that needs to stay hidden, secrets of Louisa’s past as well as new secrets of their fresh family.

As story progresses, we know someone is watching their family. Suspicions fall on their friends from fertility clinic, husband and one moment, I am even convinced, that Louisa is really unstable and maybe with split personality. There isn’t a moment of the book when I wasn’t guessing who is the person in the shadows trying to get their baby or if there even was anyone? Mind-blowing would be the word to use to explain how the ending felt. No, I did not see it coming! Exactly what you expect from a great thriller.

Author has done an amazing job, suspense was real. I felt on the edge through out the whole book, I couldn’t just leave it and get on with my life, I had to keep reading. It’s written so well, author created this vivid picture, story unfolding right in front of the reader. It’s been a while since I was so totally drawn into thriller and so far this has been the best book I’ve read in 2018.

giphy (9)


About Gemma Metcalfe

16308854

Gemma Metcalfe is a Manchester born author who now lives in sunny Tenerife with her husband Danny and two crazy rescue dogs Dora and Diego. By day, Gemma can be found working as a Primary school teacher, but as the sun sets, she ditches the glitter and glue and becomes a writer of psychological thrillers. An established drama queen, she admits to having a rather warped imagination, and loves writing original plots with shocking twists. The plot for her debut novel ´Trust Me,´ is loosely based on her experiences as a call centre operative, where she was never quite sure who would answer the phone…

You can now pre-order A Mother’s Sacrifice on Amazon and please check out Gemma’s debut thriller Trust me as well, it’s definitely worth it!

If you enjoyed Gemma’s books, you can follow her journey on Facebook or Twitter.

 

One thought on “Book Review: A Mother’s Sacrifice by GEMMA METCALFE

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: